Skip to content


Commission members:

  • Commission Role Descriptions
  • Serve on at least one committee or serve as Chair/Co-Chair of a committee.
    • Provide input to the committee.
    • Assist with the work on the agenda set forth by committee and/or commission.
    • Attend monthly commission meetings.
    • Serve as a community liaison for the campus LGBT community as an ally to all members of the community.

2017-18 Members

  • Jennifer Jabson, Co-Chair, Department of Public Health
  • Danielle Burton, Co-Chair, Department of Mathematics
  • Bonnie Benson-Palmgren, Staff, Student Counseling Center
  • Aaron Burnell, Graduate student, Social Work
  • Zachary Day, Undergraduate student, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Sterling Field, Graduate student, BCMB
  • Denise Gardner, Staff, OIRA
  • Luke Garton, Staff, Arts and Sciences Advising Services
  • Diane Goble, Staff, Multicultural Student Life
  • Cody Harrison, Staff, Student Success Center
  • Shannon Herron, Staff, Center for Student Engagement
  • May Virginia Ireland , Staff, Tickle College of Engineering
  • Kevin Kidder,  Staff, NIMBioS
  • Stephanie Langley, Staff, First Year Studies
  • Tatiana Leavitt, Staff, Center for Career Development
  • Joe Miles, Faculty, Psychology
  • Mitsunori Misawa, Faculty, Educational Psychology & Counseling
  • Anahvia Moody, Graduate student, Counseling Psychology
  • Joanne Patterson, Graduate student, Department of Public Health
  • Michael Porter,  Staff, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Jennifer Russomano, Public Health
  • Phyllis Shey , Staff, Student Success Center
  • Jordan Smith, Staff, Center for Student Engagement
  • Sarah Swinford , Undergraduate student, Wildlife & Fisheries
  • Eric Wade, Faculty, MABE

Ex-officio Voting Members

  • Susan Benner, Co-chair, Commission for Blacks
  • Robert Nobles, Co-chair, Commission for Blacks
  • Dorian McCoy, Co-chair, Commission for Blacks
  • Angela Batey, Co-chair, Council for Diversity and Interculturalism 
  • Floyd Akins Jr., Co-chair, Council for Diversity and Interculturalism
  • Eric Carr, Exempt Staff Council 
  • Beauvais Lyons, Faculty Senate President
  • Sergio Bedford, Graduate Student Senate President
  • Morgan Hartgrove, Student Government Association President
  • Kelley Spencer, UTPD Representative
  • Nancy Thacker, Graduate Research Assistant, Commission for LGBT People & Commission for Women

Ex-officio Nonvoting Members

  • Mary Lucal, Human Resources
  • Jennifer Richter, Office of Equity and Diversity


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier